Heart to Heart

Under the heading of “Fundamental Freedoms” of the Canadian Charter of Human Rights, the section states:

2. Everyone has the following fundamental freedoms:

(a) freedom of conscience and religion;

(b) freedom of thought, belief, opinion and expression, including freedom of the press and other media of communication;

(c) freedom of peaceful assembly; and

(d) freedom of association.

I started this blog in response to and also in the service of friends and acquaintances who wanted me to write something about my life, my experiences, my thoughts and feelings especially on meditation, and on the spiritual life. The people, teachers and gurus who I have met were put on my path to teach me something and help me along the path. I will be always thankful for whatever I have learnt from them.
I have and may continue in my writings, to express my feelings and searching from a very early stage in life.
I will continue to do so but I consider the path to be one continuous learning experience till this body ceases to breathe and the breath has gone maybe back to where it came.
I do not consider that being stagnant in thought and disposition is something attributable to me.
And so we see my visits to the Orient at different stages in my short lifespan. Visits which I hold dear in my heart.
We are so privileged to live in a country which allows this freedom of expression and ideas as stated in the quote from the Charter.
I respect the choices of others and their right to their expression of their beliefs. It is in this light that I give the right to myself to state mines.
Of those schools which I have frequented the most and of which I have studied some and are more familiar with,  and of which I am still learning and comparing what we have in common, is Hinduism and Buddhism. I hold them in deep respect and admiration.
As for Biblical and Christian Scriptures I still hold them very dear to my heart and will never cease pondering and meditating, especially the words and teachings attributed to Jesus of Nazareth.
Some may ask “what religion do you belong to ?” and my answer (on this day December 23,  2011) my 77th (almost 78th year) I will answer…”I do not like to think or categorize my self as “belonging” to an institute.
I like to think of myself as “belonging to the Christ”,  the one of whom St John in the First Chapter, V 1….   In the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God and the Word was God. All things came into being through him, and without him not one thing came into being. What has come into being in him was life, and the life was the light of all people.’
V14. And the Word became flesh and lived among us, and we have seen his glory, the glory as of a father’s only son, full of grace and truth”

It is that Word made flesh, Jesus the Christ to whom I belong and who I yearn to know fully and to hold at the center of my heart, of my life for all times. May his name be for ever praised.
Leave a Reply

