trip continues

Cauvery River in Southern India


Cauvery is a sacred river of southern India, rising on Brahmagiri Hill in the Western Ghats in Coorg district of Karnataka state, flowing in a south-easterly direction for 475 mi (765 km) through Karnataka and Tamil Nadu states across the Deccan Plateau, and descending the Eastern Ghats in a series of great falls. Before emptying into the Bay of Bengal south of Cuddalore, Tamil Nadu, it breaks into a large number of distributaries forming a wide delta. Known as “Daksina Ganga” (Ganges of the South), it is celebrated for its scenery and sanctity, and its entire course is considered holy ground. Read Cauvery river in southern India to know more.

I just came back from a visit to Ottawa. A friend of mine wanted to visit a Sikh Gurudwara for the first time and I accompanied her. If you don’t know anything about the Sikh religion, please look it up and also the life of Guru Nanak. The hymns sung at their prayers are very beautiful. We, as people of the Word, have quite a lot in common with the Sikhs. Many people look at the exterior appearances, the way one dresses etc. but in these times we should be able to go beyond and discover not only who are our neighbours, but how they pray, how they live their spiritual life and I assure you, we will be very surprised. When we can share in the spirituality of our neighbour, we share in what is most dear to them and we learn to understand them better and at times, we also discover things about ourselves.
I invite you to clik on this and read (http://www.sikhiwiki.org/index.php/Guru_Nanak)

Last few blogs ago, I was relating my travels in India in 1981 and I was away from the Ashram of Fr.Bede Griffiths, and after some weeks, iIcame back to Shantivanam to rest for a few days before setting out again. I was not well and I needed to take time off. the ashram of Sr.Marie-Louis situated on the other side of the street from the ashram, welcomed me. I had a pain in my left shoulder which was keeping me awake at nights and it was written about n my journal. Sr.Marie -Louise was very caring and she made sure I had a quiet hut and well balanced meals.
Many a times I wondered down on the banks near the Cauvery River and I sat under the eucalyptus trees and contemplated the river. At times I sat there in meditation with eyes closed.

There was something magical about the flowing river and how it reminds us of our own lives that are slowly flowing out to the Sea.
I closed my eyes and got into meditation very easily and when I came out and opened my eyes, the river was still flowing peacefully and the sun was slowly going down.
It was one of those magical moments some people call “cow dust time” when the cows are wending their way home and some dust is being raised.
The only cows around this river, were those awaiting their time to go ‘home.’ Some had broken legs and some just bones.

There was a golden hue in the clouds and the sun was going down in a blaze and lighting up all the sky around. It seemed like the sky dressed as monks in orange of darker colors.
“I know that Great Person of the brightness of the sun beyond the darkness.
Only by knowing him one goes beyond death.
There is no other way to go.”
— Svetasvatara Upanishad
I walked back slowly to my hut as the night birds fussed and the crickets began to sing and the frogs began to join in the chorus.
Some days, it was feeding time for mosquitoes. A bell rang supper time for us.
We never knew who would show up at the meal. At times we had new visitors and they talked about their travels as we listened or sometimes we were alone and very quiet.
Some time after dinner and the night prayers in the temple, all comes to close by the beautiful and soothing chant Yesu Yesu, Jai Jai Abba Om…….
and we wend our way back in silence to our huts for the night.

Tomorrow is another day and I will be travelling up North and to the Ganges.

At the Banks of Holy Ganges

“…The roaring of the Ganga reflects the unfathomable depths of silence… Nothing more to see, comprehend, or reflect upon. That is Fullness, the Bhuman [infinitude], the true Joy.” Swami Ajatananda, Spiritual Diary, 1975

“Ajatananda Ashram is located on a hill overlooking the holy Ganges near the sacred pilgrimage place of Laxman Jhula, a few kilometres upstream from the town of Rishikesh. The spiritual nurturance and vibration of the sacred Mother Ganga can be clearly sensed nearby. The beauty of the surrounding scenery, along with the vibrations of the holy River, makes this a truly unique place and most inspiring for spiritual sadhana.”

Not too far away, is the place where I spent six weeks in a cave, and i will tell about that later.

Leave a Reply

