Blessed are You Lord, King of the universe who made us holy with His commandments…

We sanctify the kiddush cup by understanding that it symbolizes the “cup of salvation” that Jesus offers to those who trust in Him.

“Return ,O my soul to your rest, for the Lord has dwelt bountifully with you.
For  You have delivered my soul from death, my eyes from tears, my feet from stumbling.
I will walk before the Lord in the land of the living
What shall I render to the Lord for all His benefits to me?
I will lift up the cup of salvation and call on the name of the Lord” (Psalm 116 7-9, 12-13)

(This refers to the cup that Jesus lifted up and asked us to remember His blood which was shed for us)

These were inspired by some quotes from “Jews for Jesus”

Blessed art Thou, Lord our God, King of the universe, who brings forth the Living bread from heaven.

This is considered a prophetic blessing (The Messianic Blessing) as it relates to the resurrection of the Messiah.

“He who brings forth bread from heaven”   Jesus is the true bread from heaven, Bread of Life (John 6:35)

Date: 1865 (?

Jesus washing Peter’s feet at the Last Supper
(Ford Maddox Brown) 1821-1893 British Museum

After the meal Jesus took bread and gave it to the *disciples. He said, ‘Take this bread. Eat it! This bread is like my body’. Also, he took the cup of wine, and gave it to them. He said, ‘Drink it, all of you. This wine is like my blood. God is making a promise to you. I shall pour out my blood so that God can forgive the *sins of many people.’ The *disciples would not understand the meaning of this until later.

Jesus did another wonderful thing. He took water and a towel. He washed his *disciples’ feet. Peter protested about this. When Jesus had finished, he said this:
John 13:12-17 ‘Do you understand what I have done for you? You call me ‘Teacher’ and ‘*Lord’. This is right. I am your Teacher and your *Lord. Now I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet. So you also should wash one another’s feet. I have shown you what to do. You should do what I have done for you. I tell you the truth; no servant is greater than his master. A man who brings a message is not greater than the sender of that message. Now you know these things. God will bless you if you do them.’
The *kingdom of God is a *kingdom of love and service. We love and serve each other. It is not a *kingdom where some people give orders to other people.
(Wycliff Associates Bible Study)

Leave a Reply

